REPORT OF LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE

(SPECIAL) MEETING HELD ON 5 JUNE 2006

Chairman: * Councillor Mrs Lurline Champagnie

* Mrinal Choudhury
* G Chowdhury
Mano Dharmarajah
Thaya Idaikkadar
* Nizam Ismail
* Mrinal Choudhury
* John Nickolay
* Phillip O'Dell
Raj Ray
Tom Weiss
* Jeremy Zeid

PART I - RECOMMENDATIONS - NIL

PART II - MINUTES

1. **Appointment of Chairman:**

RESOLVED: To note the appointment under the provisions of Council Procedure Rule 1.1 (xii) at the Extraordinary Council meeting, held on 31 May 2006, of Councillor Champagnie as Chairman of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2006/07.

2. Attendance by Reserve Members:

RESOLVED: (1) To note that no Reserve Members were included in the Committee's membership; and

(2) that this item be removed from future agendas.

3. **Declarations of Interest:**

RESOLVED: To note that there were no declarations of interests made by Members in relation to the business transacted at this meeting.

4. **Arrangement of Agenda:**

RESOLVED: That (1) all items on the agenda be considered with the press and public present and;

(2) in accordance with the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985, the following agenda item be admitted late to the agenda by virtue of the special circumstances and urgency detailed below:-

Agenda item Special Circumstances/Grounds for Urgency

8. Establishment of Sub-Committees and Panels 2006/07 This information was not available at the time the agenda was printed and circulated. The establishment of the Committee's subsidiary bodies was the main purpose of this Special meeting, and needed to be done as soon as possible in order to enable meetings of the Sub-Committees and Panels to be convened.

5. **Appointment of Vice-Chairman:**

Councillor Vina Mithani was nominated to the office of Vice-Chairman. Upon being put to a vote, it was

RESOLVED: To appoint Councillor Vina Mithani as Vice-Chairman of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2006/07.

[Note: Councillors Choudhury, Ismail and O'Dell wished to be recorded as having abstained from voting].

^{*} Denotes Member present

6. Minutes:

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the meeting held on 7 March 2005, be deferred until the next ordinary meeting of this Committee.

7. **Terms of Reference of Sub-Committees and Panels:**

RESOLVED: That the Terms of Reference be approved.

8.

Establishment of Sub-Committee and Panels 2006-07:
Further to the nominations now submitted in respect of this Committee's subsidiary body memberships and to the office of Chairman as appropriate, it was

RESOLVED: That the Licensing and General Purposes Sub-Committee and Panels be established for the Municipal Year 2006/07 with the memberships and Chairmen as detailed in the appendix to these minutes.

(Note: The meeting, having commenced at 6.30 pm, closed at 6.40 pm).

(Signed) COUNCILLOR MRS LURLINE CHAMPAGNIE Chair

APPENDIX 1

LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES PANELS

Reserve

Members

2. Jean Lammiman

3. Mrs Vina Mithani

(Membership in order of political group nominations) **Liberal Democrats** Conservative Labour (1) CHIEF OFFICERS' EMPLOYMENT PANEL (5) (3) [(2) Voluntary] (2) (1) [From Conservative Group allocation] 1. Leader of Group 1. Leader of Group 1. Noyce **Members** (Councillor C Mote or (Councillor N Shah or nominee) (CH) nominee) 2. Deputy Leader of the 2. Deputy Leader of the Group Group (Councillor Mr David (Councillor **Bill Stephenson** Ashton or nominee). or nominee). (2) EARLY RETIREMENT SUB-COMMITTEE (3) (Non-proportional) (2) (1) **Miss Christine Bednell** Mano Dharmarajah **Members Richard David Romain (CH)** Mr John Anderson 1. Mr Keith Ferry Reserve Mr Narinder Singh Mudhar 2. -Members 3. Mr Jeremy Zeid (3) EDUCATION AWARDS APPEALS PANEL (3) (2) (1) Miss Christine Bednell (CH) Mr Keeki Thammaiah **Members** Mrs Lurline Champagnie 1. Mrs Camilla Bath 1. Mr Raj Ray

3.

(4) LICENSING PANEL (3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

Robert Benson
Mr Don Billson
Mrs Lurline Champagnie
G Chowdhury
Ashok Kulkarni
Mrs Vina Mithani
John Nickolay
Tom Weiss
Mr Jeremy Zeid

Mr Mrinal Choudhury Mano Dharmarajah Nizam Ismail Thaya Idaikkadar O'Dell Mr Raj Ray

(5) NATIONAL NON-DOMESTIC RATE: DISCRETIONARY RATE RELIEF APPEAL PANEL (3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

Mr Don Billson John Cowan Mrs Myra Michael John Nickolay Mrs Joyce Nickolay Mr Dinesh Solanki Versallion Mr Mrinal Choudhury Bob Currie Mano Dharmarajah Mr Keith Ferry Nizam Ismail Mr Dhirajlal Lavingia

(6) PENSION FUND INVESTMENTS PANEL (4)

(2)

 I. Mr David Ashton * (CH) Richard David Romain
 Mano Dharmarajah Thaya Idaikkadar

 II.
 1. Mr Tony Ferrari
 1 Mr Keith Ferry

 Reserve Members
 2. Mr John Anderson
 2. Nizam Ismail

 Members
 3. Robert Benson

Harrow UNISON Co-optee (Non-voting): Mr R Thornton [Alternate: Mr J Rattray] Co-optee (Non-voting): Howard Bluston

(7) PERSONNEL APPEALS PANEL (3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

Mrs Camilla Bath Bob Currie

Mr Don Billson Mrs Margaret Davine

Mrs Lurline Champagnie
John Cowan
Mr Manji Kara
Jean Lammiman

B E Gate
David Gawn
Mitzi Green
Henson

Salim Miah Mr Dhirajlal Lavingia

Mrs Joyce Nickolay Mr Raj Ray
Mrs Anjana Patel Dr Bill Stephenson

Mrs Anjana Patel Mr Dinesh Solanki Mr Jeremy Zeid

(8) SOCIAL SERVICES APPEALS PANEL (3) or ((2)) (Pool of Members)

(2) ((1))

Mrs Lurline Champagnie
Myra Michael
Mrs Vina Mithani
Eric Silver
Mrs Rekha Shah

Mr Dinesh Solanki

(CH) = Chair (VC) = Vice-Chair

Denotes Group Members for consultation on DeleB E Gated Action and/or administrative matters.